• Category / Instrument
    String quartet and orchestra
    3(flG.picc).2(+ca).2(+clB).2(+cbn) / / 3perc / pno(cel) / hp /
  • Duration
  • Commissioned by
    Orchestre de Lucerne, Bamberger Symphoniker et Musica
  • Published
  • Premiere
    Strasbourg (France), Festival Musica, Palais de la musique et des congrès, Salle Erasme
    Quatuor Arditti, Bamberger Symphoniker, Bayerische Staatsphilharmonie, Jonathan Nott (conductor)


Michael Jarrell's works are published by Editions Henry Lemoine :

27, boulevard Beaumarchais
75004 PARIS
Tel. : +33 (0)1 56 68 86 74


Spuren (Nachlese VII)


Before beginning to write a new piece, I always need to determine the outlines of the universe in which I am going to work, to define what could eventually be called a "strategy". It is also a question of defining a form, a "dramaturgy" for the musical discourse, and to conceive a means of how to approach writing, in this particular case, for string quartet and orchestra.
The string quartet is often treated homophonically, with the orchestra becoming a sort of screen which receives the projected vestiges, imprints (or "shadows") of the quartet. These are sometimes amplified and developed in such a way that the musical discourse shifts, with the quartet in turn becoming the screen, taking over the imprints, the "Spuren" left by the orchestra.

Michael Jarrell

Works index
© Michael Jarrell